RSS

“up in the air” – or maybe down here on my death bed…

10 Sep

Couple of days ago, two of my former FWBs (if you don’t know what that is, good for you!) separately whatsapped me a message “Roland, put on MBC2 and watch “up in the air” ” in a matter of minutes of each other.

Needless to say, when i received the first message, i ignored it (No offense dear, if you happen to read this).  i had too much to do, a lot on my plate and I’m not a tv person as much as i used to be.

But when i received the second, and within a couple of minutes.. i got a bit curious! what’s  so special about “up in the air” and why did they both felt the need to tell me about it ?

At first i thought it’s a sci-fi movie of some sort. so instead of flipping the tv on and checking what they’re talking about. i did what any other person would do, i actually googled it! (don’t judge!)

The first hit showed that it’s a “comedy-drama” sort of film that is an adaptation of an old novel with the same name.

The first thought that came to mind was:

*damn, i can’t believe i stopped what i was doing to search for a “drama” sort of film* .

Which i relayed to both. but to my surprise, both of their replies revolved around the same idea : you should watch it, you’ll relate to the main character.

I got curious once again, and yes you’ve guessed it! i googled further more but this time i came into an interesting finding! it’s a quote of a scene in that movie:

We are here to make limbo tolerable, to ferry wounded souls across the river of dread until the point where hope is dimly visible. And then stop the boat, shove them in the water, and make them swim.

That quotation did it for me! I’m sold.. I’ll watch it!

To sum it all up, this movie is about a corporate man, due to this career has a very isolated life and somewhat unusual philosophies when it comes to relationships.  

One of his philosophies is that of the “backpack”. he claims that we should put all our relationships, bonds of trust, intimacy, friendship,etc.. in that backpack and then feel its weight.

Its weight is what’s keeping us from fulfilling our goals or dreams or whichever thing we seek to carry out.

Now that’s messed up! right? maybe? 

Well even though i understood where he’s coming from, i didn’t actually relate up until another scene in that movie.

Ryan Bingham: If you think about it, your favorite memories, the most important moments in your life… were you alone?

Jim Miller: No, I guess not.

Ryan Bingham: Hey, come to think of it, last night, the night before your wedding, when all this shit is swirling around in your head, weren’t you guys sleeping in separate bedrooms?

Jim Miller: Yeah, Julie went back to the apartment, and I was just by myself in the honeymoon suite.

Ryan Bingham: Kind of lonely, huh?

Jim Miller: Yes, it was pretty lonely.

Ryan Bingham: Life’s better with company.

Jim Miller: Yeah.

This one did it for me. it put things in perspective! 

Now i know why both of them felt the need to point this movie out for me to watch…

I realize it now, the answers of these questions 9 times out of 10 is my career. some of my best memories revolve around accomplishments throughout my career.

Most people claim that it’s better to have someone in your life, if not for love*, it’s for not dying alone.

but you know what?  for me.. on my own death bed, it’s not going to matter who I’m with.

What would actually matter is looking back and be proud of what i accomplished whether it’s having kids i’m proud of, or a long-lasting career that is full of accomplishments.

That! that would make me happy.

That is my 10 million miles mark! (watch the movie,you’ll get it)

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 10/09/2013 in Thoughts

 

Leave a Reply

 
