RSS

A journey into my 3d decade

27 Nov

It’s been a while I didn’t post anything new, I was busy with a few changes in my life triggered by the fact that i’ll be closing the door on the 2nd decade of my life in a couple of weeks.

I’ve been thinking about a lot of things lately, such as;  my future, my career, my goals, and changes that should be made.

I started weighing my goals vs ways to achieve them which required certain steps to be taken, and one of them,is to seek a job abroad that will kickstart my planned future one way or another.

Don’t get me wrong,i was right on track when it comes to my career and my previous job was amazing when it comes to the company as well as it’s staff.. but staying in leb would have had to postpone my goals a couple of years ahead instead of starting to build for my future on firm ground as of right now. So moving abroad was a path I had to take.

I started to look here and there for open vacancies, not really looking but just keeping my eyes opened . Till one day I got notified by an old colleague of mine that there were an opening in his firm which requires me to work abroad. After checking the conditions which required me to make certain sacrifices in certain areas I accepted the move and went into the hiring and negotiation process till I finally got what I wanted.

Obviously, I had lots of concerns and a long list of first times and what ifs.. (First time I leave lebanon,work abroad,live alone,what if it didnt work, what if i didnt like it,…) that haunted me for a little over a week which were finally set at rest by a much appreciated Ms. Nathalie, aka @virus2309 who lives in dubai. She had the answers to every question I ever had, and even more (For that i’ll be eternally grateful. )

Now i know what you might be thinking, I’m not the first person to work abroad nor would I be the last so it shouldn’t be such a big deal. guess what! you’re almost right if it weren’t of the little insider tips that does actually make a big difference.

So by 28th of october I had everything set! Resigned my old job, prepared my bags, had a place ready to rent over in qatar,issued an international driving license, I even knew what kind of car I’ll be renting and eventually buying thanks to www.qatarliving.com . Everything was going perfectly until the day I’ve found out that my visa got rejected for security reasons. and it all went down hill from there. (I assure you am not a terrorist.. oh and it’s worth to note that to this day I’m not sure what that security reason is as they didn’t accept to share that info.)

After 5 weeks of emails bouncing back and forth between my firm and the representatives in qatar. It ended up in me dropping the qatar deal and staying in leb.I won’t deny it! It was frustrating, it was annoying, it was one of those things that makes you want to burst in rage and blame someone, but you don’t have anyone to blame as it’s no ones fault.

I tried my best to keep an optimistic look at things, and I honestly were for a little while until all hell broke loose. Shit hit the fan on so many fronts and  as much as i’d hate to admit it, I did actually feel indifferent and sort of numb for a while. Until one day I decided to step back and reevaluate my situation and here’s what i came up with:

  • I’ve learned that the arab world makes it easier for none arabs to visit/work in their country than arabs themselves.
  • I’ve learned that taking a leap of faith in life changing decisions isn’t a bad thing with all things considered.
  • I’ve learned that we’re not ALL going to hell, as there’s still good people who genuinely mean well and help without asking for anything in return.
  • I’ve learned that control is an illusion, and you never know where a path might lead you.

I’ve learned a lot of things these past few weeks, and i’ll finish this post with the one thats most important of all :   there’s never a bad situation, as long as you learned to benefit from what you’ve experienced through it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 27/11/2011 in Thoughts

 

4 responses to “A journey into my 3d decade

  1. Nino Frewat

    29/01/2012 at 11:46 PM

    I see that you haven’t posted in a while, but I wanted to share with you that what you said rang quite sonorously in my head, as I felt the same thing after I got back from America. I stayed there a bit longer than you did, but in the end, I came back here, through no fault of my own either… It is important to draw conclusions and to learn to to keep an eye to the future…

     
  2. Roland

    30/01/2012 at 5:35 PM

    Thank you for your comment,and yyou’re right, it’s been a while i haven’t posted as i’m swamped with my new job.
    on the other hand, it’s good (not that i’m glad that it happened to you too) that someone knows what it feels.
    it’s frustrating to say the least, even now when i think about it i get a bit mad at the fact that i had absolutely no power on such an important thing in my life. especially that i’m still dealing with it’s after effects…
    anyhow, as you said. the important thing is what we learn from it 🙂
    so hope we won’t be facing the same scenario ever again.
    good luck!

     
  3. jneen8

    12/02/2012 at 3:38 PM

    I congratulate you on your optimism. It’s hard to achieve that when you go through such events, but as you said, the important thing is to learn from it! I believe that if it doesn’t happen, there is a very good reason… and only time will reveal it!
    Good luck 🙂

     
    • Roland

      12/02/2012 at 3:41 PM

      Thank you, i appreciate that!
      Well i cant claim all the credit for having such an optimistic view about the whole thing.
      Something happened around the same time that i was going through that mess which made me feel more content of what i have/had at the time.

       

Leave a Reply

 
